Two new showrunners hired to helm ‘Chicago Med’

Dr. Will Halstead (Nick Gehlfuss) and Dr. Sharon Goodwin (S. Epatha Merkerson) in a "Chicago Fire" episode that was a planted spinoff for upcoming "Chicago Med." | NBC~Elizabeth Morris

“Chicago Med” recently lost a showrunner, but it’s picked up two to fill the void.

Wolf Films, which produces the show along with Universal Television, said in a statement Thursday that the top job has been given to Andrew Schneider and Diane Frolov, former co-executive producers of HBO’s acclaimed period drama “Boardwalk Empire.”

Schneider and Frolov, who will share an executive producing credit on the NBC medical drama debuting Nov. 17, also logged time as consulting producers on the Amazon’s police detective series, “Bosch.”

They replace “CSI” alum Andrew Dettmann, whose sudden departure last week raised eyebrows after he appeared on the show’s panel at the TV critics’ summer press tour a few days earlier. Shooting on the 13-episode season is slated to begin in Chicago next month. Dettman will continue to develop with NBC and Universal TV, according to the statement.

Andrew Dettmann (top left) along with the cast and producers of "Chicago Med" at the TV critics' summer press tour. | NBC

Andrew Dettman (top left) along with the cast and producers of “Chicago Med” at the TV critics’ summer press tour. | NBC

Schneider and Frolov are veteran producers whose resumes include executive producing the CW’s “Easy Money” and HBO’s hit “The Sopranos,” which won them an Emmy and a WGA award.  They created “The Chris Isaak Show” for Showtime and nabbed a couple of Emmys and Golden Globes as executive producers on “Northern Exposure.”

Shortly before Dettmann’s departure, “Chicago Med” lost cast member and “The Walking Dead” star Laurie Holden, who reportedly bowed out for personal reasons. Her character won’t be recast, but two other females — Rachel DiPillo and Torrey DeVitto — recently signed on to the spinoff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *